The Wood County Museum was the former Wood County Infirmary, or “County Home.” The West Wing was built with Italianate influence in 1868 for $4,975.00, and used as the quarters for the Superintendent and Matron of the Infirmary. The west attic was added in 1873, followed by the Center and East Wings in the 1880s. Due to safety concerns, these two wings were demolished and rebuilt in 1898 and include a 2-story wooden porch and railings with a unique geometric design. In 1903, the front porch was added to the West wing for residents and staff to enjoy the beautiful grounds. All three wings rest on high, rough hewn limestone foundations.
After 103 years, the Infirmary closed in 1971 when a new County Infirmary (known today as WoodHaven Health Care) opened nearby. In 1972, the Wood County Park Commission and Historical Society became proprietors of the grounds and buildings. The Museum opened in 1975 as the recognized guardian of Wood County’s historical development.
The Museum is open to the public daily for self-guided tours and special events.